Chugging out the Sunday post.

It seems as if it was only a week ago I was doing this exact same thing. Alas it is Sunday and alas, I care about my grade so I am back to reiterate everything I’ve done in the past seven days. Well, Monday found me partially dying from The Oak Hall Plague: Second Semester Sickness. It was great. I slept, drank tea, and chewed down DayQuil like it was a chocolate chip cookie (as in one cookie every four to six hours). I took the day off.

Tuesday I felt a wee bit better. I was still wearing the same sweatshirt and sweatpants combo from the day before but I could move and actually make decisions and think somewhat clearly once the drugs kicked in. I read through chapters nine and ten in Uses of Blogs. To this day I have no idea how I got past the few couple of lines from chapter ten.  I believe Jean Burgess did not mean anyone to understand what she was saying for the first page or so. Maybe my mind was muddled a bit, too. Who knows? The word “pedagogy” was thrown around so many times between the two chapters I started underlining it. Sentence two of Blogging to Learn, Learning to Blog:

Their emergence in Internet culture has synchronized to a large extent with trends in pedagogy toward user-centered, participatory learning in combination with the technologization of the curriculum. (105)

Can I get a translater over here?

Alright, alright. I’ll stop with the criticism. I guess I’ll start talking about what I actually learned from these couple of chapters. We’ll start with the fact that I now know exactly where Morgan got quite a bit of his ideas. The issue with commenting and discussion boards is addressed because in order to get a decent grade in the class we were forced to be checking to see if someone had commented on our posts as well as forcing us to comment on the posts of others. Soon these “assignments” became habitual for me and WordPress was the second thing I checked when opening my web browser today. It is almost sad how sucked in I can get when it comes to social networking. Who knows? Next, I might actually appreciate Twitter in all its grandeur. Or not. I hope not. God, I hope not.

Somethings that were brought up in the chapters I found rather interesting would be the genre of “research” blogging and how similar that is to what we’re doing and how I’m still trying to fit in that little bit of me that wants to be creative and go off on tangents like this one. You know, if it was up to me, I would make a blog entirely about bad math jokes. I mean “bad” as in “poorly designed and nobody will laugh” not “bad” as in “these are dirty, do not share at church.” All of my jokes will be church approved.

Back to the subject at hand: Class. But we’re not supposed to think of it as a class? But we hav assignments? I don’t know. I’m just trying to chug along at my own pace and see how it goes, that’s how I got through my Nordic skiing years and those seemed to work out more or less in my favor.

Posts for this week

Enjoy, you blogging lunatics.

A gift for your efforts.

Categories: #en3177 | Tags: , , , , , , , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Chugging out the Sunday post.

  1. I like how you translated cyber-culture with that link to Wikipedia. What happens when you do the same with other technical terms? Might be interesting to look at.

  2. The prezi is impressive. It’s curious how prezi presentations make everything sound so easy, deterministic, inevitable. Hi ho.

  3. Love the Prezi! They make things that much more interesting, while simplifying the material. I may have to look into putting one together for future project. Good work!

  4. Pingback: Week 5: More Uses of Blogs and Priests Who Blog? | Jack in the Box

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Oh Heil Yeah

Weblogs, wikis, and other things beginning with W

Talk Nerdy To Me

An exploration of ideas and projects curated by a Computer Engineering student.

Silentc0re.com

The Home for Everything Silentc0re

TwistedSifter

The Best of the visual Web, sifted, sorted and summarized

Picks and Blocks

Floating Trees!

Playing Your Hand Right

Showing America how to Live

English Language Journal

Thoughts on the glories of the English language.

malmsy.net

An introvert's foray into social media.

BSU Blog Sauce

Not just another WordPress blog #en3177

Weblog at Gunpoint

Under Duress from an American British American English Professor

Memegwesi

SF&F Aspirations, Reviews, Silliness.

Brina Likes Books

And some other stuff, too.

Literacy Reviews and Cre8here

"Most things you worry about, never happen"

Bird Song

Just another WordPress.com site

In An Ocean of Noise

This blog was created to post my articles, published or unpublished, written for the Student Voice at UW-River Falls.

Weblogs and Wikis Daybook

a blog for past, current, and future participants of Weblogs and Wikis

Jesse James and the Internet

Perspective from a boy in a bubble.

To Write Or Not To Write

The confused, rambling and sometime incomprehensible ravings of a wanna be author...or poet...or ninja

Banjos in Backseats

Just folking around.

