Final Project Write-Up

Here’s What I Planned to Do

“I am going to make a Runescape adventure log so as to share my gaming escapades with those who may need a few pointers and for those who love the game. I’ll do this on a blog because then I’ll be able to add things like .gif files, podcasts, and videos to give diversity to my posts.” –Project Proposal

Here’s What I Did and What Happened

I created Potam like I said I would. She is a member’s character on Runescape. To introduce her, I went through the creation process and took screenshots like I said I would in my proposal. I had originally planned to only play for an hour everyday but I found that one our of play was not nearly enough to do something super exciting to write about. Each play-session ended up extending to two or three hours, four maximum, when I did the two-part posts for quests and when I would play with my friends.

It took me awhile to figure out when would be the opportune time to post and I missed some deadlines for the first two weeks but after that I posted everyday minus one week where I only could post three times.

When it came to Potam as a character, I spoke through her point of view for every post and as Potam evolved as a character I found it easier and easier to create her story. I met some very interesting people. Whenever I ran into a snag in the road, like my first desert quest that I still haven’t finished because it was just too frustrating. Some posts I could add the gallery at the end which included my inventory when I finished the session, where I was, and what my skill levels were looking like. However, I did not do this on all the posts due to the fact that some sessions I had to split into multiple posts (this happened many times when I went questing or I was talking to people in Lumbridge the whole time and nothing changed). I also had said in my proposal I was going  to add in bold at the end of my posts the amount of money Potam had but I found it looked kind of tacky since I was screenshotting everything else.

My organizational process was probably the thing I stuck to most as well as the depth of my posts. I am a detail oriented person so recording every tiny thing was essential. I directly stated in my proposal that “my categories will be based on skills, quests, and any other specialties I find like the Grand Exchange or the wilderness.” I did exactly this. Jake Ford noticed this in his Studio Tour: “One thing I admire about the project is that the posts here are very consistent and in-depth. The use of links is great, as well. After also looking at one of the blogs she said she was modeling her’s after in her proposal (Jax’s), I’d say I could learn more for Devan’s.”

There are two things I did not do that I had fully planned to do: make a podcast and make  a video. I had enough recorded game footage to make a full-length feature film but when I went to edit, crop, export, and post I found my software wasn’t sufficient enough to convert my file into the proper file to post online. The same goes for a podcast. To post .mp3 files on WordPress I had to go premium member which was not going to happen since I was already paying for a membership elsewhere.

The purpose of the podcast was to get other people involved. The video was to act as an example. Fortunately, I did get some outsider input through my posts where I played with a couple of my other friends. Not only did they make me expand beyond just that (when I ventured over to the old school RS instead of just talking about it), I had some pretty fun times as well. I made sure to link to their Twitters/Wordpress blogs so as to give them some recognition.

Comments on my posts came from veteran users  but I still had quite a few viewers regardless of the pink candy floss. Many of my views came from search engines meaning my tags were doing their job. I could have gone out and advertised more but I felt like that might be considered spamming, something I am not too keen to take part in.

Using WordPress for this project was a good idea at first but comparing that with my knowledge of Tumblr, I feel Tumblr would have been a better base just because of the capabilities available. However, WordPress was great to use when it came to my organization. Finding and linking things (this also includes the .gif files) in my posts was extremely easy.

When it comes down to it, I followed my proposal with few mis-steps such as the podcast and the odd posting days but overall I stuck with my contract where every post was at least 500-words long, most of the time at least 700. I learned a TON about WordPress, thouh. I’m a person who learns by doing and exploring a bit, although we had the manual, I learned the most about WordPress by using it and creating my own project through it. I also went into this with a very strict writing style but as time went on I became more relaxed and just typed like I would type, since Potam was me this was form her point of view in her voice because that was the voice the other RSplayers heard as well.

Categories: #en3177 | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Final Project Write-Up

  1. You’re one of the few who read the rider. Congrats. And thanks.

  2. Correction: You’re the *only* one in the class who read the rider.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Oh Heil Yeah

Weblogs, wikis, and other things beginning with W

Talk Nerdy To Me

An exploration of ideas and projects curated by a Computer Engineering student.

Silentc0re.com

The Home for Everything Silentc0re

TwistedSifter

The Best of the visual Web, sifted, sorted and summarized

Picks and Blocks

Floating Trees!

Playing Your Hand Right

Showing America how to Live

English Language Journal

Thoughts on the glories of the English language.

malmsy.net

An introvert's foray into social media.

BSU Blog Sauce

Not just another WordPress blog #en3177

Weblog at Gunpoint

Under Duress from an American British American English Professor

Memegwesi

SF&F Aspirations, Reviews, Silliness.

Brina Likes Books

And some other stuff, too.

Literacy Reviews and Cre8here

"Most things you worry about, never happen"

Bird Song

Just another WordPress.com site

In An Ocean of Noise

This blog was created to post my articles, published or unpublished, written for the Student Voice at UW-River Falls.

Weblogs and Wikis Daybook

a blog for past, current, and future participants of Weblogs and Wikis

Jesse James and the Internet

Perspective from a boy in a bubble.

To Write Or Not To Write

The confused, rambling and sometime incomprehensible ravings of a wanna be author...or poet...or ninja

Banjos in Backseats

Just folking around.

